The Era of the Over-Sharer

I have several Internet pet peeves, one of which is when people have political debates via comments on a Facebook status, and the other being the over-sharers. There are some people whom I have literally met once yet feel like I know deeply and personally, thanks to their regular Facebook updates; I know where they go to school, whether or not they dropped out of school, in what city they live, where they work, whether or not they like their job, what they ate for breakfast, if they are single or in a relationship, how their relationship is going, how long they have been together, and tragic life events such as if they have had a loved one pass away. As for the political debates, I used to partake in them just because I would become so angry at seeing a status or comment with an “inferior” opinion; I would always feel the need to “correct” the person with whom I disagreed. However, I soon came to the conclusion that if one is passionate enough about a subject to put forth so much energy into a Facebook comment, then perhaps one should use that energy to do something about the issue in real life- such as volunteering for a related nonprofit or campaigning for a politician. Sure, discussions are important, but discussions that do not lead to action are, in my opinion, pointless.

Yet, here I am with a blog that contains deeply personal and politically/sociologically charged content. Worse, I post links to my blog on Facebook.

Perhaps it is the artist’s dilemma; I use writing to express myself, and I wish to make a career out of it- yet I simultaneously do not want everyone to know my business. One topic that I never divulge on the Internet is about my romantic life. However, what’s a girl to do when, for example, she’s in the beginning stages of dating someone- you know, the giddy stage where you think about that person night and day? Clearly, that person is all that she is writing about, but she doesn’t want to post a blog entry about him. Not only would that put too much pressure on the relationship and probably make the boy uncomfortable, but why does one’s entire Facebook friend list need to be updated on one’s dating life, as if it were a gossip magazine? But alas, then one’s blog goes stale for a while. Shouldn’t the artist be constantly churning out work?

I also write about other difficult, private matters such as my father passing away and losing friends. I once posted a blog entry describing how angry and alienated I felt a month after my dad’s death, but I quickly deleted it; I found it to be much too personal to share with others, and I felt very exposed. It is difficult enough to be vulnerable in front of one person in real life- try being vulnerable in front of the Internet and everyone whom you have ever met in your life.

Still, what I am to do? Write about subjects that do not matter to me?

Regarding the political/sociological content about which I write, I sometimes have the issue wherein I feel the weight of the world on my shoulders; I go into these phases in which I read the news too much or let the problems of the world affect me. I care a lot about the mistreatment of women in particular. When I write on this topic, sometimes it is in an effort to be informative or to make the reader think about it in even a slightly different way; most of the time, it is just to release it from my person. However, my Facebook friends then inevitably go into political debates whenever I post on the subject, and it bugs me.

However, what am I to do? Write about banal topics?

My favorite type of art, in short, makes me think about things or feel things. I would much rather listen to Kendrick Lamar rap about the plight of prostitutes in Compton over how 2 Chainz wants a Big Booty Hoe for his birthday. I oftentimes turn to art when I am feeling upset or alone to know that there is someone else who has been through the same thing.

That is my only consolation- that perhaps someone out there who is going through something shitty will read my writing and feel like they can relate to it.

Either that, or I need to start using a pseudonym.

Leave a Reply

